Smith County

Smith County, located in East Texas, was established in 1846. It got its name from General James Smith who fought for Texas' independence and served during the Indian Wars. When founded, the City of Tyler was named the county seat.

The county is a total of 950 square miles and has over 1,200 miles of county roads.

Cities and towns such as Arp, Bullard, Chapel Hill, Hideaway, Lindale, Overton, Troup, Whitehouse and Winona are a part of the county.

As of 2021, the county has a recorded population of 237,186, with the biggest city within its limits being Tyler.

Smith County Facts

County Seat: Tyler

Population: 237,186 (2021)

County Judge: Neal Franklin

Area: 950 square miles

Load More Articles