Texas drivers, some are outstanding while others are not so much.  I can't help but wonder if it is because a professional is no longer required when it comes to teaching teens how to drive.

101.5 KNUE logo
Get our free mobile app

When it comes to wrecks, one of the worst wrecks is where the other person just drives off.  Most of the time it is because they don't have insurance.  Other times it is because they are wanted by the police and aren't ready to go to jail.  Sometimes it is because they are scared and don't know what to do so they panic and bail. 

Texas is the 10th Worst in the Nation for Hit-and-Runs

Texas is 28% above the national average when it comes to hit-and-runs.  One in 12 of all hit-and-runs in Texas are fatal.  The counties in Texas with the most hit-and-runs are:

  • Zapata County (South of Laradeo)
  • Dallam County (Dalhart, northwest of Amarillo)
  • Fisher Counties (Roby, north of Sweetwater, west of Snyder)
  • Dallas County (Dallas)

Most hit-and-runs in Texas happen between 8 PM and 4 PM.

Out of the 17,549 fatal accidents in Texas 1, 341 were hit-and-runs.  Which means 7.64%, of all fatal accidents in Texas were hit-and-run.

The state with the highest hit-and-runs is California.  They are #1 in the country.  The state saw 18,137 fatal accidents with 1,901 involving a hit-and-run.

If you are involved in an accident, it is important to stop, stay at the scene, and wait for law enforcement, regardless of who caused it or how it happened.

The penalties for hit-and-runs in Texas are:

Only property damage: Class B (damage more than $200) or Class C (damage less than $200) misdemeanor charge.  The charge usually depends on the amount of damage.

Accident resulting in serious bodily injury: Third-degree felony that can result in 2-10 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000

Fatal accident: Second-degree felony that can result in 2-20 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000

SOURCE: Personal injury law firm, Suzuki Law Offices, analyzed the most recent data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for the period of 2017 to 2021 to determine the states with the highest percentage of fatal hit-and-run accidents.

Top 10 Most Innapopriate Rejected Texas License Plates of '23

The Texas DMV allows you to construct a message using: letters, numbers, spaces, and symbols including hyphens, periods, hearts, stars, or the state silhouette. However the message is not allowed to be indecent, vulgar, or have derogatory content.

Top 10 Texas Road Rage Videos of 2023

Gallery Credit: Eric Ryan/Townsquare Media

[Gallery] Artist Creates Hilarious Caricatures From Texas Mugshots

Do you spot any of your pals?

Gallery Credit: Chrissy

More From 101.5 KNUE