When I was growing up it was always like a special privilege when we were allowed to ride in the back of my parents truck. As a kid there was nothing better than the wind blowing as you were not in a normal seat. But just because we all used to do that years ago, doesn’t mean that it’s legal to ride in the back of a pickup truck in the state of Texas. 

I haven’t seen many people riding in the back of pickup trucks lately here in Texas, beside in a parade or some other special event. But according to Texas law anyone over the age of 18 is allowed to ride in the back of a pickup truck if they choose to do so. However, that same freedom is not allowed to Texans that are under the age of 18.  

101.5 KNUE logo
Get our free mobile app

Texas Drivers Can Get a Tickets for Minors Riding in the Back 

If you’re driving in Texas with someone under the age of 18-years-old in the back of your pickup truck or on a trailer a police officer can pull you over and issue a citation between $25-$200. It is still legal for minors to ride in the back during a parade or hayride, but that is one of the only instances where this is acceptable. 

What Other Exceptions Are to This Texas Law? 

As I just mentioned there are very few exceptions to the law regarding minors riding in the back of pickup trucks in Texas. But if you want to know about the exact law you can click here for information from Texas Public Law. 

What States Do Truckers Say Have the Worst Drivers?

LOOK: Things from the year you were born that don't exist anymore

The iconic (and at times silly) toys, technologies, and electronics have been usurped since their grand entrance, either by advances in technology or breakthroughs in common sense. See how many things on this list trigger childhood memories—and which ones were here and gone so fast you missed them entirely.

More From 101.5 KNUE