Now more than ever, we need folks to understand the laws of Texas so we can avoid getting in trouble for small stuff.

So here's another edition of "Is it legal or illegal?". Today we'll look at using your blinker while driving in Texas.

Simple to forget sometimes, I know. But there's laws on blinker usage that you need to know about.

In the Lone Star State, signaling your intentions on the road isn't just a matter of courtesy; it's the law.

On-Road Zoomers: Car Models with the Most Speeding Tickets

Texas traffic laws mandate the use of turn signals when changing lanes or making a turn.

Failing to use your blinker can result in a traffic violation, as it compromises the safety of everyone on the road.

What Does Texas Law Say About It?

Tim Bernhard on Unsplash
Tim Bernhard on Unsplash

Under the Texas Transportation Code, specifically section 545.104, drivers are required to signal:

  • their intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet before doing so.
  • every time they intend to turn, change lanes, or start from a parked position;
  • A driver may not use signals on only one side of a parked or disabled vehicle or use the signals as a courtesy or “do pass” signal to another driver approaching from the rear.


This law applies to both rural and urban areas across the state. Violating this regulation can lead to fines and may contribute to a negative impact on your driving record (which could lead to suspension) and lead to fines.

How Much Money Are We Talking About?


According to the code, the general penalty for a person who is convicted of a moving violation like failing to use a turn signal includes a fine of up to $200.

However, due to court processing costs, some counties and municipalities have a record of costs related to turn signal violations reaching up to $210.

Really? It's Illegal For Texans To Visit These 8 Places In Texas?

Lets take a look at 8 of the places that Texans and can't visit while roaming the great state of Texas.

Gallery Credit: Lucky Larry, Mix 93-1

6 Vehicle Issues That Are Illegal in Texas

Here are 6 vehicle issues that could get you pulled over or a ticket from law enforcement in the state of Texas

Gallery Credit: Billy Jenkins

These 7 Problems Make Your Car Illegal to Drive in Texas

We've seen it on the streets of East Texas, cars with busted windshields, only one headlight working or other issues. Those issues could and should result in a ticket as there are seven vehicle problems that are illegal to drive with.

Gallery Credit:

More From 101.5 KNUE