Franklin and Wood counties are the latest East Texas counties to have enacted burn bans on them.After a very wet spring East Texas has pretty much dried up. Although our area lake levels are still normal, the ground throughout East Texas is pretty much a tinder box because we haven't had regular and decent rainfall since the end of June. With so much of East Texas dry, county fire marshal's have issued burn bans for pretty much all of East Texas with the exception of the following:

  • Titus County
  • Hopkins County
  • Delta County
  • Hunt County
  • Rains County

In those five counties it is still legal to burn, but not recommended. The following counties have burn bans in place and it is illegal to do any outdoor burning:

  • Franklin County
  • Morris County
  • Cass County
  • Camp County
  • Kaufman County
  • Van Zandt County
  • Wood County
  • Upshur County
  • Marion County
  • Harrison County
  • Gregg County
  • Smith County
  • Henderson County
  • Anderson County
  • Cherokee County
  • Rusk County
  • Panola County

Additionally there are other counties in deep East Texas, central Texas as well as counties in Arkansas and parishes in Louisiana that are under burn bans too.